Stressed About Success

Don’t worry, me too. I’m in my mid-twenties, and I recently left a decently paid job in marketing where there was progress readily available, and now I’m bussing tables in a restaurant; basically, living like my 18 y/o self again and starting over. I’ve given up my weekends to work in hospitality again which I swore I would never go back to. Why? – I hated my old job for a start.

I’m an openly creative person. The job was data and report driven, and I shouldn’t have taken it in the first place, but I was desperate at the time. Instead of listening to myself I continued pushing on knowing all along that it wasn’t truly what I wanted to do. On the surface, I tried to remain calm and collected but my real feelings shone through, and my hatred for the job meant that I made a lot of mistakes and it caused me a lot of stress which I didn’t want or need.

I’m not crazy about working in a restaurant either, which is temporary until I figure out what the hell I wanna do with my life. Now that my head is away from sitting at the computer for 40+ hours a week I have the creative freedom to write and de-stress from my former corporate 9 to 5 mundane lifestyle.

Self-Realisation
It’s not been a barrel of laughs up to this point, and I’m incredibly scared about the future and about my career. I think that society has taught us that we need to behave a certain way and think a certain way. Although we millennials are beginning to push the boundaries of this mantra, it’s incredibly difficult to swim against the ‘norm’ because we usually end up by ourselves, out at sea, while everyone is comfortably in the shallows. Don’t get me wrong, most people are a good fit for this kind of lifestyle but what if you’re like me and you yearn for a job beyond the realms of the office desk?

I frequently found myself getting really annoyed because my friends and family were saying things like ‘Oh I know exactly what you’re talking about’, and ‘I’ve been in your position before’ and I’m thinking, ‘Yeah that’s real nice, but you’re alright now, and I’m a fucking mess.’

Channel Positive Thoughts
I’m no guru when it comes to positive thinking, and I’ve still not quite mastered the art myself, but I’ve been to my fair share of meditation and positive thinking classes to evoke my learnings. Every cloud does have a silver lining and no matter how down you feel, someone is always worse off than you. Remember that.

If we can change our thoughts, we can change our feelings, thus our attitude and eventually our destiny. I know what you’re thinking: it’s easier said than done. Believe me, I’ve been there, got the t-shirt, worn the t-shirt and sold the t-shirt.

The key to, and the hardest part of, positive thinking is actually believing it. Practicing it is one thing, but the art of believing what you are saying is another.

It might be your first time in a situation like this, you might have never experienced heartbreak, being made redundant, death of a family member, the list goes on, but we all have experienced pain in some way, shape or form up until now and we have come out the other end stronger and learnt from those experiences. Remember how you dealt with those experiences previously. Are you happy with how you dealt with them or do you think you could have improved your reaction and actions at the time?

And Breathe
Visualize yourself in a future situation that you want to happen; a goal that you would like to achieve that’s realistic and is timely. You have to really believe it, from the bottom of your heart and focus your energy on that thought, that feeling and that situation where it will eventually happen.

Law of Attraction
Write it down and stick it on your wall so that every morning you wake up and look at the words when you’re getting ready they are right by your side even when you go to sleep.

Patience is key and not a trait that comes naturally to me. I repeat the same four words every morning: ‘Everything will be ok.’ Actions, however, really do speak louder than words and if you really want something you will have to go get it, it won’t come to you. And if you think it’s going to be easy, well it’s not.

Read
How many hours a day do you read compared to how many days you spend plugged into a computer, watching TV, or on your phone whether it be tweeting, texting, on Facebook or Instagram? Are you REALLY learning anything? Sure, the Internet has tons of information readily available, but everything that you need to know up to now has been written in a book.

I even bet that when you’re watching TV, you are still scrolling through Instagram or WhatsApping your group of friends, all watching the same trash TV, gossiping about it. I know this because I do it myself.

The news, although it tells us about what is happening around the world is the majority of the time, negative. When was the last time you heard something positive on the 6 o’clock news?

Ask yourself: ‘Who do I idolize?’ Have you read their autobiography? If they don’t have one, read the autobiographies of inspirational, successful people of our time. I’d recommend Steve Jobs’ autobiography as a good starting point.

What Now?
For me, I haven’t figured out exactly what I want to do with my life, which has been incredibly upsetting but that’s OK because I’m learning to deal with it in my own way. I’m sure of the hobbies that I like to do and the interests that I like to invest my time in, which I know eventually will lead me into a job where I have full satisfaction. I’m where I need to be right now, and that’s all that matters.

I do not want to be ordinary. I want to be extraordinary: channeling good vibes, taking each day as it comes as well as investing more of my time into reading has been a saving grace. It’s not been an easy process coming to this realization, and no two paths will be the same (which is what I keep telling myself).

Aside from working in a restaurant, for the time being, I’ve made a vow never to take a job from now on that I’m not completely in love with and don’t see myself progressing in. Here’s to doing things differently and swimming out into the sea. So what if we get stung by a jellyfish? Shake it off and just keep swimming.

Image source: Pinterest

Leave a Reply

