Wanderlust

I’m not overly fond of the term ‘Wanderlust’ as it reminds me of pre-teen Instagram’s with ‘Wanderlust 🌏’ in their bio (rolls eye.) Wanderlust is an intense desire to go traveling however, and my desire is so intense, it burns through my soul from sunrise to sunset every day. So you could say that I’m a teen with the word Wanderlust in their bio, it’s just not in my bio, it’s in my blood.

My only dream right now is to go traveling. I’ve practically given up on my ‘career’ because I don’t see the point in diving head first into something I’m gonna quit in 10 months, plus I can’t concentrate on anything constructive apart from trip planning. I spent a summer in Australia 4 years ago and loved the freedom, hot weather, meeting new people and change in lifestyle. When I returned, I longed for that same freedom again, but back to Uni, I went and afterward straight into a job.

If I had the money, I would be on the first plane tomorrow to wherever my heart takes me (L.A, obviously.) Unfortunately, I’m currently working as a waitress in a Thai themed restaurant which minus the beach is the closest thing to being in exotic Thailand (another destination on my list.) The pay isn’t great, (typical hospitality) so it’s save, dream save, dream, save, for now.  I keep telling myself the weekends staying in, long work hours and shopping at Aldi will all be worth it in the end. (Nothing wrong with Aldi, btw.)

I’ve not lived in my hometown (Belfast) for 7 years and been pretty much a free spirit ever since I upped and moved out at 18. I went to university by myself (Newcastle Upon Tyne) and lived there for three years before moving to Manchester also by myself to do a master’s degree. I’ve been in Manchester for 4 years, and it feels like home right now. It’s a great city to live in, for me it’s not too big or small, just the right size where I can cycle from A-B in 15 mins and make plans to see my friends without having to plan to make a plan.

The American Dream
After a dream trip to the states in April 2016; Coachella followed by LA and then 4 days in Vegas with 7 of my friends, I couldn’t get the U.S.A out of my head. I still can’t. When I got home all, I could think about what how modern America was compared to the UK. It was like the UK but better. I’d not been to American since I was 4 years old, how could I have not known I was missing out on all this?

As soon as I got home, I researched the possible opportunities that would lead me to obtain a Green Card. Marriage and sponsorship were out of the question at this stage of the game. I’m nowhere near getting married, and as I’ve mentioned before where I am with my current job sitch, I’m not looking to be sponsored (just yet.) I discovered the Green Card Lottery (yes, it is a real thing) and waited months to finally be put into the draw. The Green Card Lottery issues 50,000 visas per year to people who enter simply on the grounds they have a high school diploma, and a passport sized photo, and that’s it! As a native of Northern Ireland, I was pleased to discover that I could enter. There is a list of countries every year which can enter, so be sure to check so see whether you are eligible or not.

Waiting Game
I entered November 2016, and the draw is announced May 2017. Some days I’m hopeful my name will be picked. There’s 50,000 Green Cards issued every year and around 8 million people enter. So it really is like a lottery. Other days I think why me? Then I think why not me? I have as good as a chance as anybody. I want it more than anything. I think about winning every day, and I cannot wait to check the result in May this year. I’m pinning all my hopes on a new life in the U.S, a place I’ve been 3 times in my life and have absolutely fallen in love with. It really is The American Dream!

During the time I entered my desire was so strong to obtain a visa anywhere near the states that I also applied for the Canadian IEC visa. If I couldn’t get into the states, I would conquer Canada on a working visa which also gives me the freedom to travel easily around the states even more, and hey, who know’s what opportunities lie there?

I discovered NYC in November 2016 on a mother-daughter get away, and my love for the country became even stronger. NYC felt like home (despite Trump being elected when we were there.) I felt peaceful in the hustle and bustle of the city and as soon as we returned we booked the trip again, this time in November 2017, with a cheeky first stop in Toronto to activate my Canadian working visa which I found out I was accepted for (fist pump.)

I WILL Win The Green Card Lottery
I read an article online written by someone who had won the green card lottery and based her ‘luck’ on the Law Of Attraction; The ability to attract good things in our life that we wholeheartedly focus on and believe will happen. We can use our mind to visualize our intended outcomes and translate them into our reality.

She wrote down on a piece of paper, ‘I will win the Green card lottery’ and stuck it on her wall so that not a day went by that she didn’t wake up and look at it and go to bed without looking at it. I took her advice, and I’ve done just that. My passport photo is stuck on the wall beside a piece of paper in my own handwriting which says, ‘YOU WILL WIN THE GREEN CARD LOTTERY 2017’ and beneath my tree of positivity reminding me that if we change our thoughts, we can ultimately change our destiny.

I also have a map of the world about my bed, a pin in my current location (Manchester) and a pin in my dream location (NYC) with my passport photo attached for extra luck. With my 2 photos staring at each other channeling all the good energy across the room and my positivity tree and countless prayers each night, I live with the hope that I will be picked out of the many millions to start a life in America! I lie awake at night and visualize the screen that pops up to tell me that I’ve won. I’ve read online that it’s not exactly flashing lights and you’re issued a visa straight away, in fact, it’s quite formal and if you get picked it’s a lengthy (but worth it) process.

17820340_10155892527529989_1537119866_o.jpg

17797876_10155892527534989_186958633_o.jpgThe World Awaits
I have already started planning my round the world trip with my best friend, and we hope to set off in January 2018, hopefully to Thailand, then onto the Philippines, Hong Kong, and China, before flying to South America and lastly America. I hope to end my trip in Vancouver where I can work, or fingers crossed, stay in America for the rest of my life. For now, my future lies in the American government and whether or not a computer randomly chooses my name out of millions to be eligible for a Green Card. Kind of exciting!

What Will I Do If I Don’t Win ‘The Green Card Lottery? 
I haven’t thought about that. The Universe will have a plan for me. Oh and re-enter I guess.

 

 

Leave a Reply

