The Irony In Not Giving a F**k

For my birthday my best friend bought me a book written by Sarah Knight called, ‘The Life-Changing Magic Of Not Giving A F**k.’ I told her it’s exactly what I needed to read in this moment and time. I’ve not even opened the book, but the title struck me as funny because she and I both know I could do with reading the book.

For the last two months, I’ve let my mind and mental state run wild by ‘giving a fuck.’ The funny thing is that the reasons why I’ve gotten myself into these situations are actually by not giving a fuck. Ironic, I know.

264a0291d0d0dbe4cbe82606edd91e0a

I left a job a job 2 months ago because I was willy-nilly carrying out tasks and projects I simply could not give a fuck about. Half-assed, unfinished and to the bare minimum. Why? Because it wasn’t motivating, fun, creative, factual or worth anything. And I really mean that. This led to mistakes and fuckery which led to bigger mistakes and eventually a mutual agreement to leave, but I only have myself to blame right? How could I suddenly give a fuck about something I didn’t actually give a fuck about? Who know’s. It’s definitely food for thought.

Writing this, looking back and thinking about it carefully, I guess I gave a fuck about my pride being hurt and definitely gave a fuck about making rent the next month (which was never going to be a problem anyway.) I think it’s important to give a fuck about your own happiness, health, and well-being. I’m yet to read the book so cannot really comment but that’s my own take on my own irony in the title of the book! Thanks, Sarah, I look forward to reading!

5b87984ca110dc4d475e75ecc2816402

Leave a Reply

